AIC Hosts the 76th Annual Joint Session Model Congress

Participants from AIC's 76th Annual Model Congress

Founded in 1940, Model Congress is the longest running continuous congress of its type in the nation, and one of the College’s oldest campus traditions. Each year, AIC’s Model Congress brings high schools from throughout the northeast to campus to write, debate, and pass legislation in a simulated congress.

Model Congress is completely student run from program development, coordination, and hospitality to the organization and facilitation of the legislative sessions. With strong support of faculty and staff, AIC student leaders have kept the program thriving and secured its place as an educational opportunity for high school students throughout the northeast for more than seven decades. That’s a big deal!

AIC’s Model Congress is also one of the Commonwealth’s long-standing academic traditions during its rich history.

Keynote speaker, State Senator Eric P. Lesser addressed students on Friday. Senator Lesser represents the First Hampden and Hampshire District. While advocating for greater economic opportunity and quality of life for Western Massachusetts, as the youngest member of the Massachusetts Senate, Senator Lesser champions civic engagement and increased participation in public affairs. He encouraged students to find their path to service.

AIC’s Model Congress awards scholarship opportunities to its top delegates. The 2016 top delegate receives a full four-year tuition scholarship to AIC. Second, third, and fourth place delegates receive half and quarter four-year scholarships. Best Bill and Outstanding Delegation awards are given to the schools that submit the most outstanding legislation and demonstrate the highest level of participation, enthusiasm, and team spirit.

This year’s Model Congress had 12 participating schools from all over the region including Agawam, Belchertown, Cathedral, East Longmeadow, Mohawk Trail Regional, SABIS International, Southwick-Tolland Regional, and Pioneer Valley Regional.

And the winners are…

  • Team Spirit Award: Chatham Central High School
  • Best Delegation: Delegation A, Agawam High School
  • Best Bill: MC#3, Delegation C, Poultney High School

Honorable Mentions:

  • Jacob Grycel, Minnechaug Regional High School
  • Michael Lachenmeyer, Minnechaug Regional High School
  • Destiny Hull, Chathem Central High School
  • Gabriel LaRocque, Pioneer Valley Regional High School

Top Delegates:

  • 4th place: Nick Audette, SABIS International Charter School
  • 3rd place: Trevaughn Smith, SABIS International Charter School
  • 2nd place:  Maggie McCarthy, SABIS International Charter School
  • 1st place recipient of the Kathryn Mauke Memorial Scholarship: Abigail Sullivan, SABIS International Charter School

Television coverage of AIC’s 76th Model Congress can be found online at: and

Site map

© 2020 American International College