AIC is closely monitoring COVID-19 developments. Get the latest details and updated information >>

Model Students

79th Model Congress Winner on stage

The 79th annual Model Congress at AIC, the longest-running continuous congress of its type in the nation and one of the college’s oldest campus traditions, convened earlier this month. Eleven high schools throughout the northeast came to campus to write, debate, and pass legislation in a weekend-long simulated congress.

The AIC Model Congress awards scholarship opportunities to its top delegates. This year’s top delegate is Rose McCaffrey (above) from SABIS International Charter School who will receive the Kathryn Mauke Scholarship, a full four-year tuition scholarship to American International College. Second and third place delegates, Althea Brennan and Pamela Mountain from Chatham High School in New York, receive a $10,000 and a $5,000 four-year scholarship to AIC.

Best Delegation and Best Bill awards were presented to the schools that submit the most outstanding legislation and demonstrated the highest level of participation. Best Delegation was awarded to Alexandria Barnard-Davignon, Bridget Bushy, Rose McCaffrey, and Michael Scoville from SABIS International Charter School. Best Bill was awarded to bill sponsors Chinaly Chanvong and Jada Ficarra from SABIS International Charter School.

Participating schools for this year included Agawam High School, Chatham High School (Chatham, NY), East Longmeadow High School, East Windsor High School, Longmeadow High School, Minnechaug Regional High School, Pope Francis Preparatory School, Poultney High School (Poultney, VT), SABIS International Charter School, Southwick Regional School, and Suffield High School.

Congratulations to all!

79th Annual Model Congress Image Gallery

Site map

© 2020 American International College